Home > About Us > Our Standards and Quality

Disability Service Standards

Six National Standards

There are six National Standards that apply to disability service providers.

  1. Rights: The service promotes individual rights to freedom of expression, self-determination and decision-making and actively prevents abuse, harm, neglect and violence.
  2. Participation and Inclusion: The service works with individuals and families, friends and carers to promote opportunities for meaningful participation and active inclusion in society.
  3. Individual Outcomes: Services and supports are assessed, planned, delivered and reviewed to build on individual strengths and enable individuals to reach their goals.
  4. Feedback and Complaints: Regular feedback is sought and used to inform individual and organisation-wide service reviews and improvement.
  5. Service Access: The service manages access, commencement and leaving a service in a transparent, fair, equal and responsive way.
  6. Service Management: The service has effective and accountable service management and leadership to maximise outcomes for individuals.

Rights of Persons with Disabilities

Originally formed by the United Nations, the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities is summarised as follows:

  • Countries are to guarantee that persons with disabilities enjoy their inherent right to life on an equal basis with others, ensure the equal rights and advancement of women and girls with disabilities and protect children with disabilities.
  • Children with disabilities shall have equal rights
  • Countries are to recognize that all persons are equal before the law
  • Countries must protect the physical and mental integrity of persons with disabilities, just as for everyone else, guarantee freedom from torture and from cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment, and prohibit medical or scientific experiments without the consent of the person concerned.
  • Laws and administrative measures must guarantee freedom from exploitation, violence and abuse. In case of abuse, States shall promote the recovery, rehabilitation and reintegration of the victim and investigate the abuse.
  • Countries recognize the right to an adequate standard of living and social protection
  • Countries are to promote access to information by providing information intended for the general public in accessible formats and technologies, by facilitating the use of Braille, sign language and other forms of communication and by encouraging the media and Internet providers to make on-line information available in accessible formats.
  • States are to ensure equal access to primary and secondary education, vocational training, adult education and lifelong learning.
  • Persons with disabilities have equal rights to work and gain a living.
  • Countries are to promote participation in cultural life, recreation, leisure and sport by ensuring provision of television programmes, films, theatre and cultural material in accessible formats, by making theatres, museums, cinemas and libraries accessible, and by guaranteeing that persons with disabilities have the opportunity to develop and utilize their creative potential not only for their own benefit, but also for the enrichment of society. Countries are to ensure their participation in mainstream and disability-specific sports.

Biala’s Quality Management System

Quality management ensures that an organization, product or service is consistent. It has four main components:

  1. Quality Planning,
  2. Quality Assurance,
  3. Quality Control, and
  4. Quality Improvement.

Quality management is focused not only on product and service quality, but also on the means to achieve it.

Biala has implemented a quality management system. This is the way we:

  • Review and measure our procedures, processes and resources to ensure we are meeting the needs of people with a disability, their families and carers;
  • Ensure we deliver the best possible services and outcomes for the people we support;
  • Comply with the New South Wales Disability Service Standards.

Continuous Improvement

Continuous improvement means to consistently strive to improve your products or service according to the highest standards. It is a process which, in the long term, achieves:

  • Customer focus
  • Enhanced quality of service delivery
  • Simplified processes and procedures
  • Attitudinal change
  • Recognition of customers, both internal and external

What do quality systems do for you?

  • Allows you to get the service you need and want;
  • Allows you to have a say about the type and quality of service you receive;
  • Allows you to have confidence that the organisation is providing a good service and that it will continue and improve over time;
  • Ensures a better outcome for you and the service.

What do quality systems need you to do?

While Biala will strive for the upmost in quality and services, to develop good quality systems, Biala needs you to speak up and let us know:

  • What you want,
  • When something is wrong, and
  • What can be improved.