Teaching and Learning

Quality teaching and learning is key to bringing out the best in each of our students. Biala is an independent co-educational school, teaching a differentiated NESA K-12 Curriculum underpinned by a Personalised Education Plan for every student.

Our teaching team are all qualified in special education. The team have years of training and experience specialising in educating young people with a range of disabilities, Positive Behaviour Support (PBS) and different methods of augmentative and alternative communication strategies.

We utilise highly specialised interventions with Personalised Education Plans reflecting the assessed individual needs of the students. Our specialised staff work closely with families to support students to access and participate in their education on the same basis as other students and support our high school students into a range of post-school options.

Our Curriculum

Primary K - 6

Our class sizes are small (8-10 students) and are staffed by highly skilled teachers and learning support staff who engage in continuous professional education to ensure they are using the latest teaching and learning practices that are evidence based.

The Six Key Learning Areas in K-6 include:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)
  • Creative Arts; and
  • Human, Society and its Environment (HSIE)

The K-6 Stages are as follows:

  • Early Stage 1: Kindergarten
  • Stage 1: Years 1 and 2
  • Stage 2: Years 3 and 4
  • Stage 3: Years 5 and 6

There are enormous growth and developmental changes for children throughout the early learning stages of Kindergarten to Year 6.Biala School acknowledges these changes by offering transition support into Kindergarten, into the older years of primary and then into High School. Primary students follow the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) K-6 syllabuses which are organised according to Stages and Key Learning Areas. Each student’s Personalised Education Plan is differentiated to meet their individual needs and learning profiles.

Secondary 7 - 12

In Years 7 to 12, students follow the Stage 4-6 Life Skills Curriculum and complete the following subjects in Years 7 to 12.

  • English
  • Languages (Auslan and Key Word Sign)
  • Mathematics
  • Human, Society and its Environment (HSIE)
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)
  • Creative Arts

The Years 7-12 Stages are as follows:

  • Stage 4: Years 7 and 8
  • Stage 5: Years 9 and 10
  • Stage 6: Years 11 and 12


Biala School

78 Fox Street
Ballina NSW 2478

Head Office

Suite 4 & 5, 2 Moon Street Ballina NSW 2478